Bookmark and Share

International Symposium HDL - Beyond Atherosclerosis


International Symposium HDL - Beyond Atherosclerosis
Milano, 1 Febbraio 2019






The clinical utility of high density lipoproteins (HDL) in the prevention and treatment of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) has been scrutinized in recent years by the failures of randomized controlled intervention trials as well as the lack of association between HDL-Cholesterol modifying variants and ASCVD outcome.

HDL exert multiple functions that contribute to host defense from biological or chemical harm and mediate repair of tissue damage.
These protective functions make HDL interesting therapeutic targets beyond the management of ASCVD.
In fact recent epidemiological, clinical, genetic and experimental research indicate the involvement of HDL in many pathologies including diabetes, nephropathies, infections, chronic inflammatory diseases, cancers, and age-related macular degeneration.

Unravelling the molecular basis of these protective effects and associations may improve the management of these and other diseases. In addition, artificial HDL may be used for the delivery of tracers and drugs for imaging and targeted treatment. The one-day meeting aims to summarize the recent progress in this novel direction of HDL research.

Please write to  to register to the congress free of charge and to receive any relative communication.



Università degli Studi di Milano - Department of Pharmacological and Biomolecular Sciences – via Balzaretti, 9 – Room A - Milan


Faculty Chair
Arnold von Eckardstein,
Alberto Corsini
Cesare R Sirtori

Scientific Secretaries
Cinzia Parolini
Massimiliano Ruscica

Organization Secretaries
Elda Desiderio Pinto
Liliana Francavilla

Session Chairmen
Laura Calabresi
Alberico L. Catapano
Giulia Chiesa
Alberto Corsini
Alan Remaley
Erik Stroes
Arnold von Eckardstein

Maciej Banach (Poland)
Laura Calabresi (Italy)
Bart De Geest (Belgium)
Ruth Frikke-Schmidt (Denmark)
Roberto Giovannoni (Italy)
Jerzy-Roch Nofer (Germany)
Danilo Norata (Italy)
Alice Ossoli (Italy)
Cinzia Parolini (Italy)
Alan Remaley (USA)
Federica Storti (Switzerland)
Erik Stroes (Netherland)
Arnold von Eckardstein (Switzerland)
Mustafa Yalcinkaya (Switzerland)
Francesca Zimetti (Italy)


EAS WEB page